A favorite recipe – chicken tacos.

Good morning!

On Sunday, to celebrate the first NFL game shown in our household, I made one of our favorite dishes: chicken tacos in the crockpot. When I got up in the morning, I assembled everything and turned the crockpot on high and lunch was ready when we came home from church. I found the original recipe when I was in college and have since altered it slightly to what we like best. Dave always asks for this recipe when we have someone over for the first time and I usually agree since it’s a super easy meal to serve. I’ve shared it with a number of people and everyone seems to like it as much as we do. Plus, the leftover chicken is great on salad or in a quesadilla. I hope you have a chance to enjoy this as much as we do!

Chicken Tacos in the Crockpot

Ingredients 

  • 4 chicken breasts (I’ve used both fresh and frozen)
  • 1 can black beans (drained)
  • 1 bag frozen corn (I’ve used canned corn as well, just be sure to drain it)
  • 1 jar cheese salsa (may substitute regular salsa if preferred)
  • 1 package or 4-5 T taco seasoning (I use the 40% less sodium seasoning)

Pour bag of corn into the bottom of the crockpot; add drained black beans. Place chicken on top and sprinkle with taco seasoning. Pour cheese salsa over everything. Cover and cook on high for 3-4 hours or low for 6-8 hours.

When done, remove chicken and shred it, then return to the crockpot and mix with corn and beans. Serve with taco shells, chopped lettuce and tomatoes, sour cream, Spanish rice, or any other favorite side.

2 thoughts on “A favorite recipe – chicken tacos.

  1. Thanks! Will try this week 🙂 ps…your blog makes my heart happy. I feel as if you are writing what “we” (new wives) are feeling!

Leave a Reply

