Airing my dirty laundry.

Confession: I can’t fold fitted sheets. Seriously, why are they so difficult to fold? Does anyone else have this problem? My mom has shown me how to do it several times. She does it effortlessly, but I just can’t figure it out. And it isn’t like I don’t try. I do. I spend five minutes trying to make it fold together nicely. It never works and I end up kind of rolling it up into a nice-ish looking pile and putting it the linen closet. I should remind my mom not to look in the linen closet when she visits…

In Manchester we lived in the second floor of a house and there was no washer/dryer provided, so I had to go to the laundromat. The first few times I went to a laundromat close to where we lived, but we really didn’t like it. It was dirty. One time we went to a different place that was supposedly nicer. Some guy walked in and went straight to the bathroom and we’re pretty sure he did drugs. We didn’t go back there.

After I started working in Nashua, I found a nicer place near where I worked. I only did laundry about every two weeks, since it was time consuming and costly to go to the laundromat. I learned all sorts of…interesting?…things from the woman who ran the laundromat. She always had on a daytime talk show that was like a train wreck – it’s really awful and you know you should look away, but you just can’t.

In our new apartment, we have a basement and the landlady was kind enough to install a washer and dryer for our use. It is awesome. You really can’t appreciate how nice a washer/dryer is until you’ve had to go to a laundromat. If Dave’s white undershirts pile up faster than everything else, I can throw them in the wash without having to scrounge up other clothes to make a trip to the laundromat worthwhile. I only have to walk up and down the stairs with a single clothes basket, instead of hauling several hampers and a duffle bag into a laundromat.

I don’t let Dave do the laundry. It would only lead to marital disharmony since he doesn’t sort clothes the way I do. He washes everything together. And while my mother may not have been able to teach me how to fold a fitted sheet, she did succeed when it comes to sorting clothes. When he wants me to do the laundry, he says, “I need to do laundry today.” He knows it will strike fear into my heart and motivate me to start collecting and sorting the laundry. 🙂

4 thoughts on “Airing my dirty laundry.

  1. Rebekah that is so funny that you can’t fold a fitted sheet because I can’t either and your mother tried to teach me also! (Along with your grandmother trying to teach me a myriad of times). It must be a missing chromosome.

  2. HAHAHA! I love this. LOVE IT! I discourage Nick from the same thing… no one wants marital disharmony! The man used to wash towels, with pillow cases, white shirts, and jeans…. and then he would leave the pile in a hamper in his room to use as needed. no folding—it was like torture for me. After we said our vows, I had harmony in my heart knowing laundry would be done correctly in our household.

Leave a Reply

