Confession: I will never love to exercise.

In fact, I really, truly, deeply hate it. Don’t get me wrong – I do it. I exercise almost every day. But it’s a battle. No, more accurately it’s a war. I have to talk myself into it and I can’t wait until it’s over. When it’s done, I feel good, and I’m glad that I did it. You’d think that would make me look forward to the next time. It doesn’t.

I gained the Freshman 15 when I went to college. Okay, it was more like the Freshman 20. Spring of my sophomore year I decided to lose it and I joined an exercise class. $50 for a semester, four hours a week. That class was the closest I came to actually loving exercise and I took it for four semesters. We had three instructors. Mrs. Kengor was our Monday instructor who taught step (my favorite) and kickboxing, with the occasional hour of interval training. She was intense. She’d recently given birth when I joined the class and I heard from girls who’d taken it before that even when she was nine months pregnant she could kick our butts. Gina taught Tuesdays and Thursdays, mixing it up with zumba, dance and play, step, hi-lo, and kickboxing. She was hilarious and really knew how to make exercising fun. On Wednesdays, Mrs. Harp taught yoga or pilates.

Everyone warns you about the freshman 15. What no one bothers to mention to you is the Marriage 15. I was so excited about cooking and making delicious meals for my husband. I had good intentions about keeping us healthy. The weight sort of slowly crept up on me – on both of us, really. We couldn’t afford to join a gym and once I started working there wasn’t time for the gym anyway. When I was tired from work, the easiest thing to whip up usually wasn’t the healthiest.

A few months ago Dave and I got serious about losing weight and generally being a healthier couple. I’m proud to say I have lost 15 pounds! Dave has lost 20. I have a collection of exercise DVDs I rotate between: four different Biggest Loser workouts, four Leslie Sansone walks (2, 3, 4 and 5 miles), and Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred. And now that we have cable, I can use Exercise TV On Demand! Today I did Jillian’s Banish Fat, Boost Metabolism. It’s 50 minutes with 7 circuits. Brutal. I hated every minute. But I have 10 more pounds to lose, so I’m going to keep at it.

What about everyone else? Are there any other newlyweds who have faced the Marriage 15? Anyone else who fights a war with exercise? Or maybe you love to exercise. Want to share your secret?

7 thoughts on “Confession: I will never love to exercise.

  1. Sigh… The apple doesn’t fall far from the tree. Sorry I passed on my dislike of exercise. Like you, I do it because it’s good for me. 🙂
    Love,
    Mom

  2. Sorry, but I LOVE to exercise! However…I will also say that I only started to love it when I began running back in the 70’s. Ouch! I was NEVER good in gym class, was one of the last chosen for a team, you get the picture, but I loved running because I saw progress from mostly walking that first mile to finally running the whole thing. I liked running because it was only about me competing against me. As an “older” exerciser I HAVE to cross train to keep from overusing the joints and so I do pilates, weight training (good for metabolism and bones) fast walking with and without an incline, and still some “jogging” (while wearing knee supports). Still running is my most favorite, free feeling, exhilerating exercise. I also need to be listening to upbeat exercise music and a good audio book that gets my heart racing. I think the bottom line is to find what you love to do and if you never really “love” it, your Mom (as ALWAYS) is right…do it because it’s good for you–just look at my 91 yr. old mother who still walks (with a walker) on good weather days!

  3. Alright…thats enough outa you, Gina! My goal is to look like her after kids.

    I, thankfully did not gain any… but i packed on a few when i was supposed to be losing for my wedding!! thats the problem with being a stress eater.

    My trick: find a GREAT best friend to encourage you and keep you posted on their weight loss! Its so motivating. you’ve been the best thing that has happened to my weight loss journey! I knew we could do it! CONGRATS on the 15 pounds! I can hardly believe it! I’m so happy for you

  4. Um, okay, THANK YOU for posting this. I had never thought of it this way! The marriage 15…TRUE STOOOORRRRYY!!!! I don’t think you two have anything to worry about (you and Adrienne) seriously. But, that being said, I totally get it. I’m at school til almost 6 every night and by the time I come home to cook, clean, laundry, grade, etc etc etc you know the story. And what guys eat are way different than girls! Brett wants CARBS after the gym and meat, and potatoes. I can’t eat that way or I won’t fit into my clothes! But, it’s nice here in the mountains now and have been consistent these last few weeks of running /walking when I get home. It’s destressing. Do you have room in your house to do the DVDs? I would love that but we have no room. What’s your suggestion?

    • Bekah and I both have done Jillian Michaels 30 day shred… you don’t need a ton of room for it, and you will sweat like CRAZY!

  5. I definitely gained the marriage 20, (Man it just took me about 5 minutes to spell definitely right!!) It certainly didn’t help that I was at my thinnest since high school on wedding day, but Steve and I loved to celebrate our new marriage with delicious dinners and drinks. And also when I got my new job, it gave me some extra money which unfortunately I have spent on trips to Dunkin Donuts as a treat before heading into work. Now I’m trying to frantically slim down a bit before a trip to Texas and Disney World in 3 weeks, and that means breaking out my Jillian Michael’s 30 day shred DVD. That 20 minute work out kicks my but, I can’t even imagine spending 50 minutes with Jillian. Way to go Rebekah!

Leave a Reply

