I can’t believe it’s low calorie!

My most recent source for recipes is Skinnytaste. I love this blog because her recipes are healthy AND they taste good. I’ve tried some low fat, low calorie recipes that seriously suffer from lack of flavor. Gina’s recipes taste as good – maybe even better – as the full fat recipes. What I find most helpful is that she tells you the serving size for each dish and gives the nutritional information. Plus, she has an amazing variety of recipes. If you’re in the mood for a certain type of food, chances are you can find a version of it on Gina’s site. Most of the recipes use ingredients that I either tend to have on hand or that I don’t mind putting on the grocery list.

Here are the recipes I’ve tried so far!

Crock Pot Chicken Taco Chili – I’m really into warm, hearty soup and chili right now since it’s beginning to turn chilly outside. I put this together late last night and it cooked while we were sleeping. I turned it to warm when we left for church and it was waiting when we got home! So easy! It’s a really substantial meal by itself; I didn’t serve it with rice or even corn bread. Plus, since it’s low calorie, you can add a little reduced fat cheese and some reduced fat sour cream without feeling guilty!

Turkey Chili Taco Soup – I made this a few months ago, divided it up into individual servings and froze several containers. Splitting them into individual servings makes it super easy to just pull out a container to thaw for lunch sometime that week. I just finished my last two servings last week and now I want to make some more!

Chicken Quesadillas with Avocado-Mango Salsa – I love quesadillas and these are delicious! They are extremely filling and make a great dinner. The salsa is amazing and definitely adds to the flavor.

Lighter Eggplant Parmesan – My dad makes eggplant parmesan occasionally and this is not as good as his. BUT, his has a lot more calories and I can’t make his recipe as well as he does anyway. So when I want to make eggplant parm, I use this recipe. I made homemade tomato sauce this summer with tomatoes that Dave’s grandma gave us and used some of it to make this dish. Gina used homemade sauce as well but obviously you can use store bought if you aren’t interested in making it from scratch. I also don’t salt my eggplant and my food never suffers. I recommend serving this with some pasta (I like Barilla’s Plus brand).

There’s a ton more recipes on Skinnytaste and I intend to keep trying them out! Let me know if you try any of these recipes and whether you like them as much as we do!

2 thoughts on “I can’t believe it’s low calorie!

  1. yum!! i love trying new recipes… its so frustrating when healthy recipes dont post nutritional information…or how many ounces per serving. good to know! i wish nick liked eggplant… he refuses to eat it

  2. I just stumbled upon the same recipe blog a few weeks ago–what a gem! Try the Cuban black beans and rice for a delicious (and cheap) meal. Love your blog!

Leave a Reply

