What is friendship?

Last weekend, I went to visit my bestest friend Adrienne, a fellow newlywed who lives in Illinois with her husband, Nick. Adrienne and I met in Peru about ten years ago. Although our friendship suffered a rocky start (I thought she was arrogant, she thought I was two-faced), we quickly formed a strong bond. That bond has only gotten stronger, despite the fact that after high school we have always been separated by hundreds of miles.

Adrienne’s friendship has been especially important to me since I’ve married and moved away from my family. I’ve always been shy and slow to make friends, and it’s even harder for me to connect with people in a new city. Adrienne is always there for me. She listens to me and takes a genuine interest in my life. When I feel lonely, I know I can email her, give her a call, or shoot her a text and she’ll respond. And since she recently married and moved away from her family as well, we now share similar experiences, frustrations, and joys with each other.

If it hadn’t been for Adrienne, I might still be wearing overalls and have eyebrows that look like caterpillars. Even though she has significantly improved my style over the years, she has always loved me for who I am. She pushes me to be the best Christian woman that I can be. She is an encouragement and an inspiration to me. I thank God for bringing us together on the steps of the Union Church of Lima so many years ago.

I titled this post “What is friendship?” When I ask myself that question, I think of Adrienne. Together we have laughed, cried, fought, forgiven, borrowed clothes, dyed hair, pigged out, been stalked by a man in a Speedo, had countless discussions over boys, shared holidays together, been in each other’s weddings, worshiped, mourned, and loved. If that isn’t friendship, I don’t know what is.

Adrienne doing my hair - typical.

Senior Trip.

Senior Banquet.

A surprise visit from Adrienne in college.

Best friends.

Visiting for Amber's wedding.

Adri and Snowy have always had a special relationship.

A visit before my wedding.

At my rehearsal dinner.

Stamping candy bags for Adri's wedding.

With Allison at Adri's wedding.

Friends forever!

4 thoughts on “What is friendship?

  1. Great post, great photos. I know just how you feel. It is to the praise and glory of God that He brought your family and particularly your Mom, my very own Kindred Spirit, into my life in 1993. And we’ve got all of eternity to celebrate such a gift of friendship. God is indeed good!

  2. I LOVE YOU!!! Amber told me she teared up.. and I knew i would too!!! You are so sweet and i love this post.. you one-upped me. 🙂 Its like a second maid of honor speech! hehe.

    When i think of our friendship in the years to come.. i think of your mom and Gina… We’ll always find a way to talk, visit, and share in joys and struggles just like they do. I will love you forever!!!!

    Adi

  3. Yep, Kindred Spirits are a gift from our loving Heavenly Father. No matter where I am in the world; where I am spiritually; where I am emotinally; where I am physically my very own dear KS,Gina, is there walking beside me; loving me; encouraging me; praising God with me; praying for me; assisting me in my sanctification. What a gift.

Leave a Reply

