Never Say Never

Before I had a baby: “My child will never use a pacifier.” Reality: “WHERE IS THE PACIFIER??”

Before I had a baby: “No sugar water for my baby!” Reality: when your baby is in the NICU, you don’t really care if she has a few drops of sugar water.

Before I had a baby: “No formula!!” Reality: when your baby is starving in the NICU because you can’t pump colostrum, and it’s formula or morphine to calm her down, formula is a God-send.

Before I had a baby: “I will never nurse her to sleep.” Reality: when you’re desperate for your child to take a nap, you nurse her to sleep.

Before I had a baby: “I will never rock her to sleep.” Reality: when she wakes up crying, you rush in to soothe her and rock her back to sleep.

Before I had a baby: “I have this mom thing totally figured out.” Reality: it is only by God’s grace that I do anything right as a parent.

Leave a Reply

